Royal economies in the Grand Dutchy of Lithuania in 1780-1795

At the end of the 16th century, the royal domain was separated from the state domain. The first one was to provide the private income of the ruler, mainly for the maintenance of the court. The royal domain was primarily composed at economies (large land complexes) as well as salt mines, duties, tolls and port fees. In the area of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania six economies were located: Šiauliai, Alytus, Grodno, Brest, Kobryn, and Mogilev. In 1772, the Mogiliev Economy was occupied by Russia during the first partition of Poland. The remaining four economies stayed in Lithuania until 1795.

In 1765 Stanisław August entrusted the whole administration of the Lithuanian economies to the Lithuanian court treasurer Antoni Tyzenhauz, who began introducing Western European ideas there. After the fall of Tyzenhauz, crown court marshal Franciszek Rzewuski managed the Lithuanian economies for three years. However, the Camera was not satisfied with his management. The successor of Rzewuski, prince Stanislaw Poniatowski junior (later Lithuanian great treasurer), took over in 1783 and remained an administrator of the economies until 1795.

The aim of the project is to present and compare the state of administration and profitability of the Lithuanian royal economies at the time of the last two administrators (Rzewuski and Poniatowski). It will also be important to refer to the situation in that domain at the time of Antoni Tyzenhauz, known from literature. The study period covers the last 15 years of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth, including the period of peace and reconstruction of the 1780s after the catastrophe of the first partition, as well as the reform time of the Four-Year Sejm. This was the period of introducing new methods management in the royal domain. Another task will be to determine the size of all economies and to map their territories.

Queries for documents will be done in the historical archives in Poland (Warsaw, Cracow) and abroad (Vilnius, Minsk, Grodno, Lviv, Kiev and Moscow).